70.3 UK, Ironman Austria and Pregnancy.

I’ll start by talking about 70.3 UK.  Bella and I left Leysin, Switzerland on the Friday before the race in Wimbleball.  We both were looking forward to our weekend down in Wimbleball.

We always enjoy our time there at Gilians B and B, Holworthy Farm. I can highly recomend a trip to Holworthy farm any time of the year for a training camp our just a nice relaxing break.

Anyway we had a great busy weekend, Bella did some great work as co comentator with Whit Ramond and Emma Jenkinson, they were a great team and Bella was great with her insightful comments before, during and after the race.

I love the race at Wimbleball it is such an excellent, challenging Half Ironman. The swim went well, my freind and training mate Dan Halksworth lead the swim and set a good pace so it was just Dan, Martin Jensen and my self exiting the swim together. After a swift transition and a good climb of the first hill on the bike course it was just Dan and Myself setting the pace up front.

Towards the end of the 1st lap of the bike eventual winner Mikel Azegzabel came past. He had a 2min lead at end of the bike I had 1min on Dan. Onto the run and my run legs weren’t quite with me, I had had a hard run week the week before and I think that this had taken a bit away from my run. So I did my best and finished 2nd, 1min 15secs behind. It was the best I could do and was keen to recover from this and get prepared for Ironman Austria in 2 weeks time.

We spend a great 11days in Carshalton at my parents. Did some good training and resting getting my body ready to do a good race in Austria. On the wednesday before the race we had a great day up at http://www.profeet.co.uk and had some really intersting info on run biomechanics.

On Thursday we travelled out to Klagenfurt Austria. It is such a beautiful area a brilliant location for triathlon. My Mum and Brother arrived on Friday, my brother Mark would be doing his 2nd Ironman here in Klagenfurt, he is in good shape considering the amount of training he can fit in with his hectic work schedule. It was really nice to be able to spend some time with ma brother and mum.

It was very interesting to see how relax my brother is about competing, he has no real worries of how the race will go. He doesn’t bother doing all the loosening up the days before the race that i do. He just gets to the race and starts when the gun goes off and just goes round the course enjoying the day and doing the best he can. Where as I am deadly serious about every little thing being just right before the race, I focus completely on warming up before the start and don’t like to be distracted with small talk with others at that stage. Mark found this quite funny:)

I know this is all because I am racing for my pay check and my brother is racing solely for the fun and challenge of it. That is what is great about Ironman, all sorts of people are racing and all for their own personal reasons.

It is really important that I get as high up in the placings as possible, especially this year when we are relying on my prize money and with no prize money from Bella this year. So when I do a race, it really is my days work and if I don’t do well then I don’t get paid and it is a lot of effort for nothing.

So to the race. The swim in Klagenfurt is lovely in a warm clear lake. I got a good start and was in 2nd behind Marko Albert, unfortunatle I couldn’t quite stay with him and ended up coming out in 2nd place with 4 others behind me incl Marino Vanhoenaker. On to the bike and Marino went off like a rocket, I tried to just settle into my rythm, I felt I had a decent bike ride and came off the bike in 4th with Tom Lowe. But we were already 20mins behind Vanhoenaker, not such a great time split to get!

Marino did go on to smash the Ironman World Record so he was going very very fast!

Onto the run and I had to just get into my pace and settle in, the first 10km were not great, but I gradually losseend up and got a decent pace going. Tom was off in front by now though and I was in 5th. I ran as hard as I could and stayed in 5th. It was a decent race, and about where my fitness is right now. I am not in my best possible shape and for my first Ironman of the year I am satisfied with my performance. I know I can get my bike and run performances better in the mext couple of months.

So a good couple of weeks, we then drove back to Leysin and are very happy to be back home and get back to perparing for the birth of Baby Bayliss and also my next races.

Bella is doing great, her Belly is getting bigger still. She is still swimming and walking lots. We have been seeing lots of people with new babies it is interesting to speak to them abou their experiences. It is getting more and more exciting to think that we will have a little baby very soon. I know that , as the TV show says, 1 is born every min, but it feels so special to be having our own baby growing inside Bella, just and incredible incredible thing, amazing!

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

