Challenge Fuertaventura Half

Bella on the Playitas beach.

The race it’s self was one of those races when I felt not so good but managed to keep pushing on and came around to get a decent result. The race was held at the Playitas resort which I was very impressed with,  great facilities and nice accom and a great location for triathlon training.

Me swimming in the Leysin pool. Thanks to Daniel for the great swimming pictures.

Coming out of the swim with the leaders, Henning, Jensen and Dan Halksworth.  I felt awful running up the beach to transition and lost touch,  I then managed to get back up to the front with the lead 3 but at about 15km lost touch.  After about half way my legs started to come round and I eventually caught back up to the leaders.  Jensen then rode hard the last 20km really well and put 90secs into the other 3 of us.  Onto the run and I didn’t quite have the speed I needed and Henning ran way to a 1min win and Jensen hung on to 2nd 30secs ahead of me.

I was happy with my race,  it was a decent performance,  just a bit more work needed.

Well done to Dan Halksworth, showing some real improvement, he has been training really hard and it is starting to pay off.

Dan after the race and after his massage with his recovery drink:)

Bella and I are back now to Leysin, the pool is shut here in the village so we are having to go down to the bottom of the mountain to swim in the outdoor 50m, which is a beautiful pool, but freezing cold (well 20degrees, that is freezing to me;)  it is lovely and warm to my channel swimming brother), so most of the swimming is done in the wetsuit.

Bella kicking in the Leysin pool.

See more pictures from Daniel here: http://web.me.com/boussole2/boussole2/Accueil_1.html
Beautiful pictures of Switzerland.

See more about Bella and I on:
http://www.theironcouple.com (to be updated soon)
http://www.teambayliss.co.uk
twitter: @theironcouple

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

