2nd at Ironman UK

Bella and I headed back to the UK late last week and got to the sports complex here in Leigh near Bolton, we checked out the course and got ourselves organised for the race.

The lake was not as cold as last year so that was nice:)  I had a good start and was next to Fraser he then took the lead and I followed behind him,  he swam a very good pace,  Axel Zeebroek was behind me and Brandon behind him. Out of the swim and Fraser legged it too transition I managed to catch him with a quick wetsuit strip and we headed out onto the bike with a 30sec gap to Axel behind. After about 30km Fraser put in a really good surge on the back section of the course and left me. Axel caught back up to me and we stayed together until the end of the bike.  We were getting some splits ocasionally on the bike, Fraser had opened up about 6mins by just over half way but we managed to keep the gap to 6mins 40sec at the end of the bike. Onto the run and my plan was to try and catch Fraser, I started solidliy and so did Axel and we ran side by side, at the turn around in Bolton we got a split of 7mins, arrgh! So I pushed on and Axel then styed behind me till the Last turnaround, with 12km to go the split was 6mins 30sec, arrgh, I kept pushing and dropped Axel but knew Fraser would probably have to really start to struggele for me to catch him. I finished in 2nd, 6min 1sec behind Fraser.

Big congratulations to Fraser he really was the best athlete on Sunday and did a very fine job. I gave it all I had and wasn’t able to match him. Next time I will be stronger though;)

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.