5th at Ironman South Africa.

Bella and I were lucky that we were coming from Asia and not Europe last week to Port Elizabeth.  As I am sure you know the volcano was trying to stop Europeans getting here,  some did get here but many didn’t.  I feel sorry for all those that didn’t make it. 

We have had a great week here in Port Elizabeth, as we always do.  Staying with Craig, Liesel, Connor, Jenna and Danielle, it is so great to have them look after us, be there to chat too and support us in the race,  and just generaly being great!

I felt pretty relaxed going into the race.  I had a good swim coming  out in 2nd.  Onto the bike and it was a group of 5 of us and we we had a gap of about 3mins to a group including Raynard and James ,  this grew to 7mins because of Hect really riding very strong.  I was doing my best to just stay with this group but eventually the effort and my lack of bike strength at the moment caught up with me somewhere just after 100km,  I then had very weak legs and lost alot of time to the leaders,  I tried to recoperate the best I could and not lose to much time. 

Then out onto the run and my legs were shot!  So I had to run at my own pace and hope that I would regain some strength and energy.

After a very slow first lap I managed to pick it up and worked my way up the field.  I really worked hard to try to get into 5th palce, as the new Ironman prize money pays 1st -5th, so nothing for 6th place.

Overall I was happy that I did my best,  I am not in tip top shape just yet and this race will have done me some good.  And Bella and I have enjoyed our time here in Port Elizabeth very much, as always.

A big thank you to all the competitors and spectators who gave me a shout on Sunday it really was much appreciated.

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.