Animals of Thailand

These are the animals that I saw on my run this morning.

We have a pet gecko in our bathroom, he likes to eat the flies that come out when it rains.  He is a happy gecko!

We have a pet gecko in our bathroom, he likes to eat the flies that come out when it rains. He is a happy gecko!

 

The elephants send me on my way as I head out.

The elephants send me on my way as I head out.

 

The monkeys always look mischievious, I keep away from them.

The monkeys always look mischievious, I keep away from them.

 

I'm not sure if this is what I saw, but what I saw a couple of times is a very large lizard that looks like this.

I'm not sure if this is what I saw, but what I saw a couple of times is a very large lizard that looks like this.

 

This probably wasn't the snake that I saw this morning as apparently there are many different types of bright green snakes in Thailand.  This is some kind of Viper. The snake I saw this morning gave me a fright as I only saw it at the last minuite, it was about 8ft long:)

This probably wasn't the snake that I saw this morning as apparently there are many different types of bright green snakes in Thailand. This is some kind of Viper. The snake I saw this morning gave me a fright as I only saw it at the last minuite, it was about 8ft long:)

 

All is going well here in Krabi,  it is a very fine place to train, a good example of why it is good here is the dual carrage way that we cycle on, it is quiet and long and lots of cheap drinks on route.  Then if we want a hill, we have a fantastic hill which is empty of trafic, just the odd snake and komodo dragon!  For swimming we have a 50m pool and can swim almost anytime,  the same goes for the running track.

In 3 weeks time I will be in Port Elizabeth for Ironman South Africa.  I am very much looking forward to the race this year.  Last year I think I got a bit hung up on wanting to win,  I will be very happy this year if I feel I have done my best and put in a performance that I am proud off.  If I do that I may well be right up the front of the race.

It is sure to be a tough race with many good athletes and also our very own James Cunama who is training very strongly and after 2 great 70.3 races this year is sure to be one tough competitor.

I am also looking forward to seeing our homestay Craig and Liesel and there 3 lovely children, they all make our stay in Port Elizabeth so nice for that week it is a shame when we have to leave.

On the same day my dad, my brother and his girlfriend are all running the london marathon,  they have all been getting the miles in so I am sure they will have a great day.

On the entertainment front, this week I have been watching The Simpsons and House on the internet TV:)

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.