Ironman Cozumel

The day started for me much as I had planned, I swam alone in 2nd and then headed out onto the bike 1min down on 1st.  I caught 1st after 20km and then was leading a group of 6.  Rutger Beke went to the front and eventually rode off with Pedraza.  Galindez eventually followed and Zymetsev and myself rode the whole ride together eventually catching Galindez again.  We came into T2 with 9mins to the leading 2 but I hadn’t ridden too hard and felt quite strong and was looking forward to the run and was roughly where I planned to be at the end of the bike.

Then onto the run Zymetsev and I ran together for the first few kms, but then my struggle really started, I couldn’t keep pace with Zymetsev anymore and started to slow but was still going ok, but by the end of the 1st lap I was really crawling along, I was trying what I could to get my body working but nothing was working and I was getting slower. I eventually had to walk and then I couldn’t walk anymore and had to stop. I got picked up and taken to medical. After a few drips I started to feel better and was able to greet Bella as she crossed the line for another great performance.

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.