2nd at Volcano Triathlon

I have just fished 2nd in the Volcano International triathlon here at Club La Santa, Lanzarote. It is an Olympic distance non drafting race.

It was a good race, well organised and a good course, they had a record number of entrants, 420 I think. Their were numerous professional athletes racing, many who will be competing in the Ironman in 3 weeks time.

I had a good start and was leading the swim with Luc Van Lierde, he took over for the second half but I nipped by him exiting the swim, and led onto the bike with him just behind, he put the pressure on on the bike, by the end he opened up a 1min 20sec lead. I came of the bike with Bert Jammer(last years Ironman Lanzarote winner) he caught me towards the end of the bike. We ran out together. I tried to push the pace and took the gap down to 1min to Van Lierde but it stayed around 1min and so I finished 2nd with Jammer in 3rd not far behind.

Was great to see Bella wizzing along on the bike then on the run, she can run a fast 10km as some found out today:)

So a good days work, some decent price money for this fantastic event, great enthusiasim, organisation and support from Kenneth Gasque(the race organiser for 25years) and the ever helpful Green team, maybe the 2nd best team in the world after Team TBB of course:)

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.