19th July 2007

The World Long Distance Championships in Lorient, France was on 15th July. I won’t write too much about the race as, for me, it was a race to forget. I had a poor performance and finished in 20th.

I read on the http://www.britishtriathlon.org that I apparently blamed my performance on the shortened distance (this year it was a double Olympic distance instead of triple Olympic distance). I certainly don’t blame the distance for my poor performance, there are other reasons why I didn’t perform very well, but it was not because the distance was short!

My preparation was not as good as the French team in particular. The French team as a whole deserve congratulations for the very impressive way they have focused on this race and in so doing dominated the race last Sunday. This is something I will learn from and improve upon for myself in future.

Next up is IMUK.

Thanks for reading
Stephen

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.