3rd at European Long Distance Championships

I came 3rd and I’m very happy with my performance. I felt a lot better than at IMUK 70.3 last weekend from the start. I made a few changes to my bike position including my saddle and it made a good difference too.

I swam good in the lead group but with a lone leader and eventual winner Fred Van Leired 40sec ahead. He then proceded to put 4 more mins into me on the bike.

It was then a matter of chasing him down as hard as I could on the run. Which I did with eventual 2nd place Jonas Colting, who ran great and just pulled away from me on the last lap. I ran as hard as I could and was really pleased to get a Bronze medal in a very strong European Championship field, with numerous IM champions and 70.3 Champions. So a really encouraging race for me.

Now for 3weeks training then the World Long Distance Championships in Lorient, France.

Cheers
Stephen

About stephenbayliss

Triathlete
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.